Dollbaby - Laura Lane McNeal

Dollbaby

By Laura Lane McNeal

  • Release Date: 2014-07-03
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Dollbaby book review score

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 251 Ratings)

Dollbaby Laura Lane McNeal Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets
 
When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.
 
For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.
 
For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.
 
By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

Dollbaby book review; book recommendations; Fiction & Literature books;.

User reviews about this book

  • Doll baby

    5
    By dgurlbrown
    I loved loved loved this book! Wonderful story but the characters so alive you can feel them!
  • Loved it!

    5
    By pink dreams
    A great story!
  • Dollbaby

    4
    By mdclifford
    Highly recommended! New Orleans is one of the characters in this intriguing tale of family secrets, enduring friendships, the early civil rights movement, and what it means to be part of something larger than yourself. The characters come to life, and you care about their intertwined existences throughout their time together. A good read all around.
  • Doll baby

    5
    By Tens glia
    Such a great read the beginning is a little slow but keep reading and you will find you can not put it down as the story becomes more and more engrossing with many surprises throughout The book,
  • Dollbaby

    5
    By Mamou-yan
    I read on a daily basis, and this book was such a great read....being from Louisiana and born in Mamou, it was a fun and loving read
  • Dollbaby

    5
    By Snooks46
    McNeal has written a wonderful book that I couldn’t put down. The book is rich with fascinating characters who were riveting. I couldn’t read and turn the pages fast enough to find out what was going to happen next. The family secrets that unfolded throughout the book made reading it compelling to the very last page.
  • Dollbaby

    5
    By seasidejan
    I loved this book. Once I began reading it, I couldn’t put it down. Such a wonderful, warm-hearted story filled with characters you won’t soon forget.
  • Dollbaby

    5
    By Wickedweezy
    Beautifully written intelligent and eloquent story. This book had me from the first page, and I have just, sadly, read the last page. Truly wonderful!
  • Dollbaby

    5
    By msprcher
    This was a wonderful book. I couldn't put it down. For those of us who grew up in the 60's and 70's, the way the author captured the times, brought back memories of my youth. A very moving ending and a great story.
  • BabyDoll

    5
    By DedraRus
    This read was fun for me. The era and culture of the day was captured and related with "real" detail and language. I enjoyed this immensely!

Comments/Review section is closed