A Good Man Gone (Mercy Watts Mysteries Book One) - A.W. Hartoin

A Good Man Gone (Mercy Watts Mysteries Book One)

By A.W. Hartoin

  • Release Date: 2013-06-04
  • Genre: Women Sleuths
A Good Man Gone (Mercy Watts Mysteries Book One) book review score

4 Score: 4 (From 550 Ratings)

A Good Man Gone (Mercy Watts Mysteries Book One) A.W. Hartoin Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

A rollicking cozy mystery series from USA Today bestselling author A.W. Hartoin.
For fans of Janet Evanovich, Tricia O'Malley, and Jana DeLeon...

What do a dead cop, a murdered bride, and a sizzling summer have in common? Mercy Watts, of course.

Nurse and dutiful daughter, Mercy Watts is on vacation from her parents. The great detective and his loving wife are on a cruise and, for the first time in years, Mercy thinks she's off the hook. She won’t be doing any investigating for the family firm. No tailing suspects. No background checks. Nothing but her own stuff for three whole weeks. She’s thrilled.

But when Tommy’s old partner has a fatal heart attack out of nowhere, Dad has one of his famous feelings and orders Mercy to look into it. She tries not to get sucked in. She really does. But she is her father's daughter. Soon Gavin's death leads to a more grisly one, the death of a bride on her wedding day. Can the two be connected? Was Gavin murdered? Now Mercy can't stop. You do for family. That's all there is to it.

A Good Man Gone (Mercy Watts Mysteries Book One) book review; book recommendations; Women Sleuths books;.

@2019 – Just Read Book. All Right Reserved. justreadbook.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

User reviews about this book

  • Mercyful o’ Sass

    4
    By wonttakeless
    A Good Man Gone reads like a journal absent the dates, treading aimlessly through the daily routine of fact-finding adventures until all action spikes in one big uh-huh! close to the end. Lashbatting and throwing in a curveful to pry out every bit of information may be considered entertaining by some. A serious reader looking for depth may find them too much of a good thing. Some properly placed colloquialisms located throughout may just bring much needed diversifying interest. Fragmented episodes give the feeling that it is missing one vital but elusive element that will give it the cohesiveness it needs, but that is what detective work is all about although writing one may not be. Looking at the big picture, one may note a fairy tale bit to it that takes the word fiction a ways off.
  • A Good Man Gone

    1
    By linburg
    Being in the medical field, and finding on page 1 that the protagonist was a nurse, I thought this book might have an interesting plot, so I continued reading. However, it was a disappointment. I didn’t find the plot to be well done. The language was unnecessarily crude, but the real turnoff was that there was not a single appealing character among all the major characters in the book. “The Girls” were okay though without appeal, but the remainder of the characters were annoying at best. Therefore, I would not read any more books by this author.
  • A Good Man Down

    5
    By Dotti Smith
    Fun and funny. My kind of read.
  • Mercy!

    5
    By Huntress320
    Great detective novel with lots of twists and turns. Looking forward to finding out what adventure Mercy will have next.
  • Exciting!

    5
    By Morllyn
    Lots of action, plot twists and food. Loved the main character.
  • A Good Man Down

    2
    By Geeggall
    The book is very well written. I think it should be called a short story rather than a book. It seemed very short. I don't know what the mystery was, but I think of it rather as chapter one and expected more. The writing style was very clever and very descriptive. I enjoyed it very much.
  • A Good Man Gone by AW Hartoin

    3
    By TexicanDisciple
    Pretty good read. A lot of language I don't like. Also, in chapter nine, the author used the words had went together. The verb went does not need a helper.
  • Good Man Gone

    1
    By Barnzart
    Didn't finish... Don't like sexual books.
  • Fun free read! Thanks!

    5
    By Jamilky
    Fun story with a woman who prevails in a male dominated crime "busting" world. Interesting twists and some wry humor. Thanks again for the free read! Aloha~
  • A Good Man Gone

    3
    By gramu
    Fairly good plot; a bit different than the usual. Some things are exaggerated beyond credibility (i.e. quantity of phone calls, same type of phone calls to new phone numbers, MM look-alike attention, etc.), but then it IS a work of fiction. Hate to read and find errors a decent proofreader or even the author should have caught -- how can Mercy step between Darrell and Helen when next she stands up from the chair for them to leave? Confusing with lots of "M" as first letter of someone' name. Enjoyable but not enough to read another in the series.

Comments/Review section is closed