Power Down - Ben Coes

Power Down

By Ben Coes

  • Release Date: 2010-09-28
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Power Down book review score

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 1,065 Ratings)

Power Down Ben Coes Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.

A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist attack. But there was one factor that the terrorists didn't take into account when they struck the Capitana platform off the coast of Colombia—slaughtering much of the crew and blowing up the platform—and that was the Capitana crew chief Dewey Andreas. Dewey, former Army Ranger and Delta, survives the attack, rescuing as many of his men as possible. But the battle has just begun.
While the intelligence and law enforcement agencies scramble to untangle these events and find the people responsible, the mysterious figure of Alexander Fortuna—an agent embedded into the highest levels of American society and business—sets into play the second stage of these long-planned attacks. The only fly in the ointment is Dewey Andreas—who is using all his long-dormant skills to fight his way off the platform, then out of Colombia and back to the U.S., following the trail of terrorists and operatives sent to stop him. Power Down is a gripping, compelling debut thriller from Ben Coes, a powerful new author, an amazing talent certain to join the ranks of the genre's finest writers.

Power Down book review; book recommendations; Mysteries & Thrillers books;.

@2019 – Just Read Book. All Right Reserved. justreadbook.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

User reviews about this book

  • Great novel

    5
    By TigersJC86
    Very impressive debut. I loved the characters and the details regarding finance. This is a series I will continue to read for sure
  • Great read!

    2
    By Fun read
    Had no idea if I would like this or not but wow! I had a hard time putting it down. Great read!
  • A nail biter

    5
    By boandtug
    Great book. First time I ever read any of his work but will definitely be reading future volumes.
  • Absolutely Fantastic Reading

    5
    By Coop03842
    I've never heard of Ben Coes until I stumbled upon him searching for a thriller. With Clancy and Flynn have passed on I needed another author. Boy did I find one!! This book is as thrilling as a book can get. It's FANTASTIC!! His writing style reminds me of another Joel C Roseberg; exciting from beginning to end. I'll need to look at his other writings. Hope they're as good as this one.
  • Power Down

    5
    By Shirleyrae
    I have enjoyed reading this book. It is very exciting and intense. The action never stops. I read it in three days only putting it down when having to do other things. I will surely read the next book in the series
  • Excellent! Must read!

    5
    By thingsyoudontlearninschool
    Well written and in similar style to Vince Flynn and Brad Thor books, which are equally great.
  • Review for the closed minded Libs

    3
    By Christof60
    I will adjust my review up or down after reading the whole book. But for the few dolts that review it low, and based not on it being a good or bad read but rather their ideological bias, this is for you. It's a NOVEL! And really, a novel about terrorists making a major strike to take down the "Great Satan" isn't a plausible theme, let alone a truly possible scenario? If something similar to this, or "One Second After" (GREAT book) actually occurs, you will likely be among the pariah that will plague the people who have retained some common sense, caution, and preparedness. But of course, you'll have your Kumbayah songs to nourish you through it all.
  • Good read

    4
    By AparrishAZ
    Good read. It definitely fit the bill as I was struggling to find something to occupy the brain while waiting for the new books to come out from Vince Flynn, Brad Thor and other cast of favorite authors.
  • Wow what action

    5
    By Larkbillick
    I have read all of Vince Flynn, Ted Bell, Cussler and would put this with all. Great book!
  • Finish?

    4
    By JoBu56
    finish was somewhat detached from the story??? Good read otherwise, and Dewey got the girl, excellent!

Comments/Review section is closed