Captive - Catherine Oxenberg

Captive

By Catherine Oxenberg

  • Release Date: 2018-08-07
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
Captive book review score

4 Score: 4 (From 50 Ratings)

Captive Catherine Oxenberg Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Now updated with a new afterword, Captive is an emotional, ripped-from-the-headlines exposé that lays bare the secretive cult that shocked the world—for fans of Leah Remini’s Troublemaker and Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear.

I am a mother whose child is being abused and exploited. And I am not alone.

In 2011, former Dynasty star Catherine Oxenberg joined her daughter, India, at a leadership seminar for a new organization called NXIVM. Her then twenty-year-old daughter was on the threshold of starting her own professional life and they both thought this program might help her achieve her dream. But quickly, Catherine saw a sinister side to the program that claimed to simply want to help its clients become the best versions of themselves.

Catherine watched in horror as her daughter fell further and further down the rabbit hole, falling under the spell of NXIVM's hypnotic leader, Keith Raniere. Despite Catherine’s best efforts, India was drawn deeper into the cult, eventually joining an elite “sorority” of women members who were ordered to maintain a restricted diet, recruit other women as “slaves,” and were branded with their leader’s initials.

In Captive, Catherine shares every parent’s worst nightmare, and the lengths that a mother will go to save her child. Catherine’s efforts finally led the FBI to take notice—and the journey is not yet over. A powerful depiction of a mother’s love and determination, and with horrifying insider details never revealed in any news story, Captive will keep you reading until the very last page.

Captive book review; book recommendations; Biographies & Memoirs books;.

@2019 – Just Read Book. All Right Reserved. justreadbook.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners, to earn advertising fees by linking and advertising to amazon.com and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program; As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

User reviews about this book

  • Riveting!!!

    5
    By Meggie6990
    I could not put this book down. What an amazing story of a mother’s unconditional love and how easily our sweet, innocent children can be lured away from us into an unimaginable situation out of our control.
  • Such an easy read. Loved it

    5
    By gpolt12
    This book was fantastic. Read it in 2 days while on vacation by the pool. Really interesting and fascinating. Could not put it down.

Comments/Review section is closed