Walking the Amazon - Ed Stafford

Walking the Amazon

By Ed Stafford

  • Release Date: 2012-08-28
  • Genre: Specialty Travel
Walking the Amazon book review score

3.5 Score: 3.5 (From 44 Ratings)

Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

As seen on Discovery Channel and for readers of Cheryl Strayed's Wild, Bill Bryson, Jon Krakauer, and David Grann, a riveting, adventurous account of one man’s history-making journey along the entire length of the Amazon—and through the most bio-diverse habitat on Earth.  Fans of Turn Right at Machu Piccu will revel in Ed Stafford's extraordinary prose and lush descriptions. 

In April 2008, Ed Stafford set off to become the first man ever to walk the entire length of the Amazon. He started on the Pacific coast of Peru, crossed the Andes Mountain range to find the official source of the river. His journey lead on through parts of Colombia and right across Brazil; all while outwitting dangerous animals, machete wielding indigenous people as well as negotiating injuries, weather and his own fears and doubts. Yet, Stafford was undeterred. On his grueling 860-day, 4,000-plus mile journey, Stafford witnessed the devastation of deforestation firsthand, the pressure on tribes due to loss of habitats as well as nature in its true-raw form. Jaw-dropping from start to finish, Walking the Amazon is the unforgettable and gripping story of an unprecedented adventure.

Walking the Amazon  is also available in a Spanish edition entitled Caminado El Amazonas

Walking the Amazon Ed Stafford epub; Walking the Amazon read online; Walking the Amazon book review; book recommendations; Walking the Amazon Audiobook; Specialty Travel books;.

User reviews about this book

  • Most excellent adventure!

    5
    By Jeff Baurick
    Written with the brutal honesty of today's adventure novels. Unbelievable perseverance and stamina. If you want sugar coated and half truths read Anapurna. I'll take this any day!
  • Disappointing

    1
    By Eddie Merckx
    This is an incredibly lame book. It had potential, but turns out to concentrate more than anything on the author. He belittles and berates the people who tried to put up with him as traveling partners, and lays the blame on them for their leaving the adventure, which was really just the author's obsession. The author attempts to justify his obsession by saying that it was for the good of the rainforest and the indigenous people, but I'm at a loss to recognize how he and his trip benefited anything other than the author. I kept reading, hoping for something more, but it left me completely flat. A waste of time and money (the book, I mean; draw your own conclusions on the author's walk).

Leave here your review