The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind - Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

By Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle

  • Release Date: 2018-04-03
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
Our rating: 5/5 stars

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 11 Ratings)
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind ☑

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind ♫

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle read book description

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind.

In January 2015, Barbara Lipska—a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness—was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia- and schizophrenia-like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity.

In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, even when so much else is gone.

tags: The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle epub; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle read online; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind read online; read The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind by Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle eBOOK; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind ePUB; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind book review; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind book summary; book recommendations; book review blog; book summary website; The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind Audiobook; Barbara K. Lipska & Elaine McArdle; Biographies & Memoirs books; books to read The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind.

User Comments