The Whole Town's Talking - Fannie Flagg

The Whole Town's Talking

By Fannie Flagg

  • Release Date: 2016-11-29
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
The Whole Town's Talking book review score

4 Score: 4 (From 137 Ratings)

The Whole Town's Talking Fannie Flagg Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

New York Times Bestseller • Southern Book Prize Winner

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking

“A witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”People
 
“Fannie Flagg at her best.”The Florida Times-Union
 
“If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Brilliant . . . equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”The Newport Plain Talk
 
“Delightful.”—The Washington Post
 
“A ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”Richmond Times-Dispatch

The Whole Town's Talking Fannie Flagg epub; The Whole Town's Talking read online; The Whole Town's Talking book review; book recommendations; The Whole Town's Talking Audiobook; Fiction & Literature books;.

User reviews about this book

  • Genealogist delight

    5
    By Staynavytom
    Great read for genealogists. Wish I could write my family history this well. Easy to read.
  • Imaginative and Captivating

    5
    By Caliochoocho
    A great read that captures the soul of several generations in a blossoming small town.
  • The Whole Town's Talking

    3
    By MaryBKAZ
    I am a huge fan of Fannie Flagg's work. This book was a disappointment for me. Sometimes I felt like the character development had little time to fully form because of the sheer number of characters. In addition, it seemed to have undertones of preachy political rhetoric. Flagg's style of writing was the only thing that kept me plodding through the pages. The ending, while interesting, seemed tacked on,
  • 😐

    1
    By Martagirl39
    What did I just read?
  • Boring

    2
    By Zwine2
    The book reads like it's written for the intellectual capacity of young children. And it's not really about anything, shallow and boring.
  • The Whole Town's Talking

    5
    By Artymusician
    Outstanding book! I loved this book, except the last few pages. As the author invited, I made up an alternative ending. It inspired me to write a book about my own family and community ancestry. Loved the poetic justice and upbeat, positive themes throughout. I love Ms. Flagg's books, and often laugh out loud while reading in public places -- leading to hilarious discussions with other fans in waiting rooms, airplane flights, and family gatherings. Humor is truly a universal language that connects diverse people with laughter...and heals the soul.
  • The Whole Town Is Talking

    2
    By Time is mine
    Unlike her other novels. Descriptions are lacking color and insight. Chapters are choppy. Not a page turner. I can't believe this novel is her latest writing. It is more like something from one's early years as a writer. I quit reading this when the 50's was the focus.
  • Wow!

    5
    By Ojinaga3dog
    This is one of the best ever; read it through in one sitting.
  • Not good

    1
    By Miracle467
    This book had no point to it. It's just a book about a town where the people die and hang out at their grave sites. Nothing magical happens, nothing interesting happens, there was no point to this book. It's a book about being reincarnated but with no magic or anything interesting to make you care. I feel like this should have been a free book.
  • Fannie Flagg's latest novel!

    3
    By Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader
    The Whole Town’s Talking is the latest book by Fannie Flagg. The Whole’s Town Talking takes us from the town’s inception in 1880 through 2021. We get to see Lordor Nordstrom arrive from Sweden and start his dairy farm. The various settlers that join him in Southern Missouri and slowly create a town called Swede Town (in the beginning). They are more than neighbors; they are a family. Lordor courts and marries Katrina Olsen, a housemaid from Chicago (with the help from the ladies of the town). Katrina is a mail order bride that answers Lordor’s advertisement. Lordor donates land for the town cemetery to be called Still Meadows. All the original settlers receive a lot. They take a picnic up the hill and everyone picks their burial plot. The town slowly grows over time as they add a general store, barber, bakery, and a school. Miss Lucille Beemer becomes the schoolteacher. We see the town change over time as new people come to their town and the children grow up, marry, and have their own kids. The town changes its name to Elmwood Springs and Lordor becomes the first mayor in 1901. Lordor is the first person to be interred in Still Meadows in 1911. It turns out that life is not over when you die in Elmwood Springs and are laid to rest in Still Meadows. To find out what happens in Still Meadows and the town of Elmwood Springs, you will need to read The Whole Town’s Talking. The Whole Town’s Talking is the history of Elmwood Springs from its humble beginning and into the future. The Whole Town’s Talking is not quite what I expected (from reading the blurb). There are many (dozens) characters in the book, and it can be hard to keep them all straight. Some of them are quirky like Elner. Lordor and Katrina are the best developed characters in the book. Elner Shimfissle (what a name) is the most endearing (and unusual). The beginning of the story (the first hundred or so pages) is the best part. After that the story is not as engaging. I did not know that The Whole Town’s Talking was a part of a series (not until I went write the review and did a little research). The other three books are Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!, Standing in the Rainbow, and Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven. I give The Whole Town’s Talking 3.5 out of 5 stars. I did feel that Fannie Flagg could have pushed the afterlife section a little further (I am trying not to give away any spoilers). It was not as magical or special as it could have been. The epilogue was strange and the ending was a letdown. The Whole Town’s Talking seemed to be lacking Fannie Flagg’s usual sass (or spark) and humor (that can be found in her earlier works).

Leave here your review