Age of Myth - Michael J. Sullivan

Age of Myth

By Michael J. Sullivan

  • Release Date: 2016-06-28
  • Genre: Epic
Age of Myth book review score

4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 56 Ratings)

Age of Myth Michael J. Sullivan Book Review Score: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

One of fantasy’s finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground.

Michael J. Sullivan’s trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership and comparisons to fantasy masters Brandon Sanderson, Scott Lynch, and J.R.R. Tolkien himself. Now Age of Myth inaugurates an original five-book series.

Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between humans and those they thought were gods changes forever.

Now only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer; Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom; and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over. The time of rebellion has begun.

Magic, fantasy, and mythology collide in Michael J. Sullivan’s Legends of the First Empire series:
AGE OF MYTH • AGE OF SWORDS • AGE OF WAR

Age of Myth Michael J. Sullivan epub; Age of Myth read online; Age of Myth book review; book recommendations; Age of Myth Audiobook; Epic books;.

User reviews about this book

  • Fantastic

    5
    By JDSquires
    Any fans of epic high fantasy should pick this up. A well developed world with great characters and Easter eggs for those familiar with Sullivan’s Riyria series
  • Lots of interesting characters

    4
    By Lkrieg
    This book was slow to start but once the action started it kept on building. There are a lot of interesting characters to meet in this story and it's fun to see how they all tie together. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
  • LOVED IT!

    5
    By Hobbs.
    Great story, very interesting, I was confused so much and amazed when I finally understood some things. This book made me feel like a kid again listening to a fantastic story.
  • DNF'd at the 3/4 Mark

    1
    By Isisunit
    I would like to thank Del Rey & NetGalley for a copy of this e-ARC to review. Though I received this ebook for free, that has no impact upon the honesty of my review. Goodreads Teaser: "What does it mean if the gods can be killed? The first novel in an epic new fantasy series for readers of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch. Michael J. Sullivan's trailblazing career began with the breakout success of his Riyria series: full-bodied, spellbinding fantasy adventures whose imaginative scope and sympathetic characters won a devoted readership. Now, Sullivan's stunning hardcover debut, Age of Myth, inaugurates an original five-book series, and one of fantasy's finest next-generation storytellers continues to break new ground. Since time immemorial, humans have worshipped the gods they call Fhrey, truly a race apart: invincible in battle, masters of magic, and seemingly immortal. But when a god falls to a human blade, the balance of power between men and those they thought were gods changes forever. Now, only a few stand between humankind and annihilation: Raithe, reluctant to embrace his destiny as the God Killer, Suri, a young seer burdened by signs of impending doom, and Persephone, who must overcome personal tragedy to lead her people. The Age of Myth is over; the time of rebellion has begun." Unfortunately I found myself struggling so much with this book that at about 3/4 of the way through I finally stopped trying. I almost never mark a book as Did Not Finish (DNF), but in this case after trying numerous times I simply thought it best if I stopped torturing myself. I was unable to connect with any of the characters, and thus their plight held no interest for me. I certainly hope others fared better than I with this book.
  • Interesting story

    4
    By Paimon sigh
    Good book with an interesting story line and a lot of potential, the only thing that was disappointing was seeing the main character "the god killer" get overshadowed by almost everyone else

Leave here your review